Are pickles gluten free?

Most pickles are gluten free.  But not all. Pickles are usually made of: cucumbers or other vegetables vinegar seasonings That's it!  So the only thing to worry about in there is the vinegar.  Here's the rule with vinegar: *******If it is distilled, the gluten is neutralized.******* The thing with malt vinegars is that they ... Continue reading...

Recipe: Pulled BBQ Pork

This is my absolute favorite barbecue sauce, and it doesn't even need Worcestershire sauce, which is a huge bonus for us gluten-free Canadians! Mix together sauce: 1/2 c. chili sauce 1/2 c. brown sugar 1/3 c. white vinegar 1 c water 4 Tbsp mustard powder Pour over 1lb pork tenderloin, cook in slow cooker for 2 - 4 hours.  If you ... Continue reading...

Dear Strawberries: If distillation takes care of gluten, why do I react to whiskey?

This is an excellent question. Often, I think, your own belly is the best guideline. Because I’m sure that even if they say it is gluten-free, there are a minuscule amount of proteins that are ‘acceptable’ or deemed medically safe.  Or you are reacting to a non-glutenous source that your body doesn't like. What I found when I went looking ... Continue reading...